Tag: Reviews

September 12, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Cuttputlli

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

Everything is not bad. Cuttputlli manages to create suspense around the killings. The locations aid the story. Akshay Kumar as a performer does not falter. But that’s about it.

June 12, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Jayeshbhai Jordaar

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

If the intent is all that mattered, Jayeshbhai Jordaar would certainly have been one of the most remarkable films in recent times. It uses comedy, proven to be effective while dealing with social evils, to tell us what misogyny could lead us to

June 4, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Interceptor

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

The one person who stands between “American and Armageddon”, as made abundantly clear by the officer in charge of the base. The hero is Capt JJ Collin, better known as JJ among friends. She is a fighter, someone who took down a top official who tried to molest her.

May 29, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Attack – Part 1

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

John Abraham had already tasted success as a super cop in Force. It is only natural that he seeks to up his game. And what better than a super-strong cop who could lift heavy bikes and throw them at goons? A super-soldier of course. Little wonder John Abraham is credited for the story of Attack, where he plays a Super Soldier!

May 28, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Heropanti 2

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

Had Heropanti 2 been released a few years back, it could have been a perfect motivational movie for me. Maybe my then boss could have even sponsored a ticket. Team development, you know. I could do with such levels of conviction even when I know what I am doing is absolutely stupid.

May 16, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Beast

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

Hostage dramas are not new. And we have had multiple thrillers with a single man taking down terrorists – from Salman Khan starrer Tiger Zinda Hai to Vidyut Jammwal’s Sanak. The very theme of a superhero-like personality taking on armed terrorists is about breaking away from what could be believable…

March 14, 2022 Off

Movie Review: Badhaai Do

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

Unlike an Aligarh, which aims to sensitise the audience on the hardships of a homosexual person, Badhaai Do puts the onus on the person itself. Its core idea is to boost morale so that a person accepts his or her sexuality openly without any fear or shame.

January 8, 2022 0

Movie Review: Satyameva Jayate 2

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

In many ways, SMJ2 is actually a masterclass. As the end credits rolled, believe you me, I actually watched it till the end, I was buzzing with multitudes of ideas… maybe a listicle since that’s the cool thing to do, on what not to do while making a movie

January 2, 2022 0

Movie Review: Meenakshi Sundareshwar

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

There is something incredibly likable about Sanya Malhotra. She does possess the power to pull off a scene on her own, if not the whole film. Where Meenakshi Sundareshwar goes completely wrong is the conflict build-up and the way it is addressed

December 20, 2021 0

Movie Review: Bunty Aur Babli 2

By Noyon Jyoti Parasara

There is an unremarkable song ‘Dhikchik Dhikchik’ early in the film where Rani Mukerjis’s Vimmi and Saif Ali Khan’s Rakesh are seen putting up an unremarkable performance at a regular neighbourhood event. That acts as a clue to whatever is about to follow.